IPl 2021: kolkata knight riders beat delhi capitals in 2nd qualifier venkatesh iyer Shubman Gill shines
 IPl 2021: kolkata knight riders beat delhi capitals in 2nd qualifier venkatesh iyer Shubman Gill shines

In the second qualifier of the Indian Premier League 2021, Delhi Capitals defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 3 wickets. Kolkata Knight Riders made it to the final after defeating Delhi and now they will take on Chennai Super Kings in the title match on October 15. Batting first, Delhi Capitals scored 135 for 5 in 20 overs in the second qualifier played in Sharjah. In reply, Kolkata Knight Riders won a ball earlier. Kolkata needed 6 runs from the last two balls to win and Rahul Tripathi gave his team victory by hitting a six.

Kolkata in IPL final for the third time

Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill became the heroes of Kolkata Knight Riders's victory. Venkatesh Iyer scored 55 runs in 41 balls in this important match. Venkatesh Iyer hit 3 sixes and 4 fours in his half-century. His strike rate was 134.15. Such a strike rate on the pitch of Sharjah is really amazing. Venkatesh Iyer shared a partnership of 96 runs in 74 balls for the first wicket with Shubman Gill. This partnership was heavy on Delhi Capitals and this team could not win the IPL once again. On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders have made it to the final for the third time. When Kolkata made it to the finals both the times, it also won the title. Kolkata had achieved the distinction of becoming IPL champions in 2012 and 2014.

Kolkata won the toss, Delhi batted first

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and invited Delhi Capitals to bat first on the Sharjah pitch. Delhi captain Pant was happy with this decision. Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan gave a quick start to Delhi. Shaw scored 18 runs in 12 balls with the help of 2 fours and a six. But in the fifth over, Varun Chakraborty made a return to Kolkata by dismissing Shaw on his very first ball. After this Stoinis came to the crease and trapped him with the KKR bowlers. Stoinis could only score 18 runs in 23 balls. Dhawan also became the victim of Varun Chakraborty after playing a struggling innings of 36 runs in 39 balls. Captain Pant could only score 6 runs. However, Shreyas Iyer made an unbeaten 30 in 27 balls to somehow take Delhi to 135 runs.

Kolkata framed a one-sided contest

Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer gave an amazing start to Kolkata. Both had put Delhi Capitals out of the match by adding 96 runs for the first wicket, but the match suddenly changed as soon as Venkatesh Iyer's wicket fell. Kagiso Rabada made Delhi's return to the match. He first dismissed Venkatesh Iyer and after that this fast bowler also took the wicket of Dinesh Karthik for just 1 run in the 18th over.

In the 19th over, Norkea also dismissed Eoin Morgan for just 3 runs and in the last over, KKR needed 7 runs in 6 balls. Ashwin bowled the last over and in the first four balls, he made the match exciting by dismissing Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine for just 1 run. On the last two balls, KKR needed 6 runs in 2 balls and Rahul Tripathi hit a six towards long off to take his team to the final.

Share this story